Hanging Up The Green Jacket

“Every rose has its thorn, just like every night has its dawn, just like every cowboy sings a sad, sad song; every rose has its thorn.”

I don’t very often quote Bret Michaels; actually I don’t think I ever have before unless I am telling the story of when I got to meet him at the Four Seasons Arena a few years back.

It’s definitely not something I brag about often.

I’ll try and refrain from quoting the “Rock of Love” reality TV star in the future but sometimes you’ve got to scrape the bottom of the barrel to get the point across.

Tonight is my last night broadcasting Montana Tech Lady Oredigger and Oredigger basketball. It has been an enjoyable four seasons on the mic for the Diggers.

I’ve seen blowouts, overtimes, and barn burners; foul outs, buzzer-beaters, and three point barrages.

And I’ve loved every moment of it.

As I look back I have to thank a few people for getting me into broadcasting most notably my partner-in-crime Peter Young who has taught me so much. I wouldn’t have wanted to call the games with anybody else. It has been four seasons of great times and a variety of laughs with most of them coming at my expense.

The friendships that I’ve made with players, coaches, and cameramen are some things I’ll treasure forever.

But like the rocker and reality TV star said, “every rose has its thorn.” There comes an end to every beginning and a final chapter to every book. And what a great book it’s been.

The question is, “What the heck do I do with my green jacket?”

It’s not like a green jacket is something you wear all the time, or out to dinner, or on dates. Just kidding, I don’t go to those.

I might just have to hang onto it for the memories. Like when the Diggers knocked off No. 10 Rocky Mountain College a few years back, or when Bryan Bock scored his 1,000th career point in the final seconds of his final game of his career.

However like the 80’s hair bands Poison, Def Leppard, and Twisted Sister it doesn’t last forever. I’ve loved my time broadcasting Digger basketball but it’s time for me to wipe off the makeup, take off the wig, and remove the feather boa from my neck.

Thanks Oredigger and Lady Oredigger basketball for all the memories, and if you’re ever in the market for a green sport coat (size 42L) you know who to call.

Leave a Reply

